Mong La or Mongla, also known as Little Mong La or Xiaomengla to distinguish from neighboring Chinese Mengla County, is the administrative seat of Mong La Township in Shan State, Burma. Mongla is located opposite Dalou, a Chinese border town in Yunnan Province, and approximately 258 kilometres from Mae Sai, a border town of Thailand, and approximately 80 kilometres north-east of Kengtung. Although technically the town is in Myanmar, electricity, telecommunications, infrastructure works, as well as imports and exports are dependent on China. The main currency used in Mong La is the Chinese yuan.